Ghana News Ghana Politics

Joe Wise and Andrews Amoako Asiamah elected as Deputy Speakers

Ghana Waves App

The Member of Parliament for Bekwai in the Ashanti Region, Joseph Osei Owusu has been elected as the First Deputy Speaker of the 8th Parliament of the 4th Republic.

He retained his seat after he served in the same position in the 7th Parliament which was dissolved some hours ago.

Also, the Member of Parliament for Fomena, Andrew Amoako Asiamah, who is also the only independent MP in the 8th Parliament has been elected as the Second Deputy Speaker of Parliament.

Mr Asiamah contested the 2020 elections as an independent candidate after a fall out with of the New Patriotic Party where he belonged.

His seat was also declared vacant prior to the elections and he win the seat after the elections.

They will be assisting the Speaker, Rt.Hon. Alban Bagbin who was sworn in moments ago.

The proceedings in the House has been suspended and will reconvene for the swearing of the President-elect, Nana Addo Dankwah Akufo-Addo and Vice President-elect, Dr Mahamudu Bawumia.

The President’s investiture will take place at 12 noon.

Source: Ghana Waves

Related posts

Dual citizenship case: Appeals court dismisses applications by Jomoro, Assin North MPs

Ghana Waves

Akufo-Addo’s failure in corruption fight monumental – Manteaw

Ghana Waves

Parliament to drag Police, Military to privileges committee for contempt – Haruna

Ghana Waves Radio News