NPP chooses Prof Mike Oquaye as Speaker of Parliament

Ghana Waves App
Speaker of Parliament, Prof. Aaron Mike Ocquaye

The Council of Elders of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) has chosen Professor Aaron Mike Oquaye as Speaker of the 8th Parliament.

The party’s General Secretary, John Boadu disclosed this to Adom News Monday.He said the decision was reached at a meeting at Alisa Hotel in Accra.

Osei Kyei Mensah-Bonsu

He also added that, Majority leader, Kyei Mensah Bonsu was retained and his deputy will be Member of Parliament for Effutu, Alexander Kwamena Afenyo Markin.

MP for Nsawam-Adoagyiri, Hon. Frank Annoh-Dompreh will be Majority Chief Whip.

Ayawaso West Wuogon constituency

His two deputies will be MP for Ayawaso West Wuogon, Hon. Lydia Seyram Alhassan and MP to Tolon, Hon. Habib Iddrisu

The 7th Parliament under the 4th Republic is expected to be dissolved by midnight on Friday.


Aaron Mike Oquaye was born April 4, 1944 is a Ghanaian politician who served as the Second Deputy Speaker of the Parliament of Ghana between 2009 and 2013.

A member of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), he was the MP for Dome-Kwabenya from 2005 to 2013.

He was Ghana’s High Commissioner to India to India from 2001 to 2004, then Minister of Energy from 2005 to 2006 and Minister of Communications from 2006 to 2009.

Send your news stories to social@ghanawaves.com and via WhatsApp on +233 244 18 76 37 or +49 1521 320 8944

Related posts

Akufo-Addo delivers 24th national address on Covid-19 tonight as cases surge

Ghana Waves App

Govt to support SSGL to replicate waste treatment plants – Osafo-Maafo

Ghana Waves

Kennedy Agyapong relaunch attack on ‘fake pastors’, promises to reveal more

Ghana Waves