Ghana Politics

NSS boss heads to parliament with landslide victory

Ghana Waves App

The Executive Director of the National Service Scheme and parliamentary candidate of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) in the Yagaba/Kubori constituency has won the seat for the NPP.

Hon. Mustapha Ussif, who won the seat in the 2012 elections and later lost it to Alhaji Ibrahim Abdul Rauf Tanko in 2016, has successfully made his way back to parliament with a landslide victory.

Hon. Ussif won 18,153 votes (64.01%) while 9,393 votes (33.14%) were recorded for the incumbent, Alhaji Tanko.

In the same constituency, President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo managed to win 17,099 votes against 9,881 votes for the National Democratic Congress (NDC) presidential candidate, John Mahama.

This is the second time Hon. Ussif and the NPP have won the seat since its creation in 2004.

In the North East region, the NPP managed to win 4 out of 6 constituencies. Information gathered by our reporters suggests that the Nalerigu Gambaga seat held by the Local Government Minister, Hajia Alima Mahama, and the Bunkpurugu seat held by the North East Regional Minister, Hon. Solomon Boar, have both been lost to the NDC.

Source: Citi News

Related posts

President swears in members of the Council of State

Ghana Waves App

Akufo-Addo ‘teases’ Alan, Afriyie Akoto over their presidential ambitions

Ghana Waves

John Mahama to address the nation today

Ghana Waves Radio News