Ghana Politics

We recorded 87.8% turnout during special voting exercise – EC

Ghana Waves App

The Electoral Commission (EC) says it recorded an 87.8% turnout in the special voting exercise which took place on Tuesday, December 1, 2020.

A total of 109,577 persons including security personnel and journalists were expected to cast their ballots for their preferred presidential and parliamentary candidates across the country in the exercise.

But the chairperson of the Commission in responding to a question on the expected turnout for the main polls said the turnout was good.

She maintained that the Commission is aiming for a higher turnout in the December 7, 2020 general elections.

Madam Jean Mensa therefore urged Ghanaians to go out in their numbers to cast their vote without fear or intimidation.

“If I am to take a cue from the Special voting [where] we had a turnout of 87.8% during the exercise that took place on December 1, 2020, we are hoping that we will have such a turnout or higher with God being our helper and all things being equal [in the December 7 elections].

Meanwhile, on the issue of persons who have misplaced their voter identification cards, she said such persons can still go and cast their ballot.

According to her, the Commission has every registered voter’s details.

About election 2020

Ghanaians will on Monday, December 7, 2020, go to the polls to elect a President and 275 Members of Parliament (MPs) to steer the affairs of the country for the next four years.

A total of 17,027,655 registered voters are expected to cast their ballot at about 33,367 polling stations across the country.

According to the Electoral Commission (EC), voting will commence at 7 am and end at 5 pm on election day.

In all, 12 candidates are on the ballots seeking to be elected as President of Ghana.

They are; Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo (NPP), John Dramani Mahama (NDC), Christian Kwabena Andrews (GUM), Ivor Kobina Greenstreet (CPP), Akua Donkor (GFP), Henry Herbert Lartey (GCPP), Hassan Ayariga (APC), Percival Kofi Akpaloo (LPG), David Asibi Ayindenaba Apasera (PNC), Brigitte Akosua Dzogbenuku (PPP), Nana Konadu Agyeman Rawlings (NDP) and Alfred Kwame Asiedu Walker, (Independent Candidate).

Source: Citi News

Related posts

We have never harassed Dr Oteng – GRA squashes Captain Smart’s claim

Ghana Waves App

I’ve never been involved in galamsey – Asomah-Cheremeh

Ghana Waves App

Upper West Regional hospital is ‘fully’ operational – GHS replies Mahama

Ghana Waves